Uttarayana (northern solastice)


   With every two mäsa (months) commencing with magha, are the six Ritus ( seasons ) sisira, vasanta, grishma, varsha, and hima ( hemanta ) successively; the three commencing with sisira ( iira, vasanta, and grisma) form the Uttarayana (northern solastice ); also known as Adna kala because the sun takes away the strength of the people daily.
 The months and seasons can be explained as follows :—
 Magha and Phalguna
 (mid-January to mid.March) (cold, dewy season)
 Caitra and Vaiakha Vasanta ritu
 (mid-March to mid-May) (spring season)
 Jyestha and Asãc1ha Grisma tu
 (mid-May to mid-July) (summer season)
 The above three ritus (seasons) form uttaräyana (northern solastice) or Adankãla ( debilitating period).
 Avaia and Bhãdrapada Varsa rtu
 (mid July to mid-September) (rainy season)
 vayuja and Kãrtika sarat ritu
 (mid-September to mid-November) (autumn season)
 margaira and Paua Hemanta ritu
 (mid-November to mid-January) (winter season)
 These three pus form Daksinayana ( southern solastice) or visarga kãla ( strengthening period).
 Uttarayana (northern solastice)
 Because of the nature of the path, both the sun and wind become very strong (powerful) and dry during this ayana (uttarayarja) and take away all the cooling qualities of the earth; tikta ( bitter ), kasaya ( astringent ) and katuka ( pungent ) tastes are more powerful respectively (in the three successive rtus ), hence this adana kala is ägneya ( predominantly fire-like in nature).
 Tikta ( better taste ) is powerful in hemanta (cold, winter season), kasaya ( astringent) in vasanta ( spring) and katu (pungent) in grishma (summer ).

Kumkum / safron - Crocus sativus

 Medicinal Plant / herbs

Crocuses belong to the family Iridaceae. The saffron crocus is classified as Crocus sativus, It is a shrub. Leaves are seen towards the base of the stem and are compactly arranged.Read More about safron.....